What not to do when using a WordPress.com blog


Yesterday I wrote a pretty long article in Google docs. I first published it on Google+,  but then remembered this blog and decided to post it here as well.

So I entered the title, added a few tags and copied and pasted the whole article into the New Post form.

Boom! My blog suddenly was suspended for a Terms of Service violation.  I contacted support, but didn’t hear from them for several hours. Later I realized there’s a special contact form for suspended blogs. So I used this and only moments later, my blog worked again.

So what did I do wrong? By copying and pasting the text I was obviously triggering an automated anti-spam system that immediately suspended my blog. So, the next time I’ll have to be more careful (or WordPress.com has to make some tweaks to their anti-spam mechanisms). 😉

Leave a Reply

